Cafe Nest – a cozy little place in the 19th

Last week, I took my Mom out for breakfast in the 19th. I love going out for breakfasts in Europe – the assortment of breads, fruit, and other fun dishes, the relaxed morning atmosphere while you slowly start your day with a melange in hand….ah, one of my favorite meals of the day.

I had been meaning to try  Cafe Nest for quite some time as I had read great reviews and some of my friends had raved about it. Unfortunately, it has strange opening times (Wednesdays-Sundays 9am-10pm) so my earlier attempts to go there had been met with a closed door. Not so last week as I had thought to check the website for opening times before heading out the door.

And boy, it did not disappoint! The small but cozy cafe on Sieveringer Strasse (yes, way out in the 19th) offered a great breakfast selection. I had a crepe with nutella and banana (yes, I went all out!) along with a cappucino and my Mom had the breakfast “pikant” (spicy) which consisted of a lovely basket of rolls, cold cuts, cheese, a soft-boiled egg, and fresh juice. It was all deliciously and carefully (and lovingly as my mother pointed out) prepared by the owner.

IMG_0125

The cafe is quite small – 7 tables – but has a very cozy atmosphere. They stay open through the dinner crowd, serve wine, and perhaps most importantly – Ben & Jerry’s ice-cream along with delicious home-made cakes for dessert. We will definitely be back but with a reservation next time (the cafe filled up quickly and we arrived at 9am sharp!).

For more information:

Reviewed by Nicole

Comments are closed.