Review: Astera Restaurant

Astera restaurant recently opened in a spot that formerly housed an Asian restaurant and serves what I would call “middle eastern” food. It is located on Alserbachstrasse in the 9th district directly behind the 40A bus stop and the 5 and 33 tram stop. Since it is so close to the embassy I thought it would be a good place to meet my husband for lunch, and I am so glad that we went. The food was delicious and reasonably priced.

I ordered a large mixed starter plate, which included hummus, baba ganoush, falafel, and assorted meat-stuffed pastries. My husband ordered the mixed grill plate that had multiple skewers of chicken and red meat served over a large piece of pita bread with white sauce. I gave him half my meal and vice versa, which made for a great variety of food and a very satisfying lunch.

The servers were friendly though “typically European”: if you want to go for lunch but have limited time, perhaps using their take-away service would be a better option. As I said, the prices were good: our meals and a half liter of wine cost about 30 Euros. This restaurant does not have a website that I can find, but I strongly recommend going there to check it out.

Comments are closed.